The Biennal KuVS Communication Software Award

The CSA is award by the GI/ITG SIG on Communication and Distributed Systems KuVS and honors the best practice-oriented application, tool, framework, or demonstration showing innovative and original research in the areas of networks, communication, or distributed systems. All nominated proposals are subject to a preliminary reviewing process, and the accepted nominees present their software at the biennal IEEE NetSys Conference, where the final winner is selected based on the problem complexity, solution maturity and presentation. One CSA is reserved for an academic/student project: Considering the difference between industry and thesis projects, an academic CSA is given to the student project with the highest scores in case that an industry-backed project achieves the overall highest scores.

The 2013 CSA was awarded in conjunction with the IEEE NetSys 2013 in Stuttgart on March 13th 2013. 19 nominees have been selected from an overall 36 submitted proposals, and presented to a highly interested and interactive audience on site. Their descriptions have been published in a special issue of the PIK journal. The CSA committee consisted of the following six members:
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Effelsberg
Prof. Dr. Stefan Fischer (President of the SIG KuVS)
Prof. Dr. Horst Hellbrück
Prof. Dr. Kurt Rothermel (General Chair of the NetSys 2013)
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Strufe (Committee Chair of the CSA 2013)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Wehrle

The committee evaluated the accepted projects based on the three factors above, and the top five places were achieved by the following projects:

Communications Software Award 2013

Automatic VPN-Configuration with Secure OverLay for IPsec Discovery
(Michael Rossberg, Michael Grey, Markus Trapp, Franz Girlich, Günter Schäfer; TU Ilmenau)

Academic Communication Software Award 2013

IBR-DTN - The Versatile, Efficient Open-Source Framework for a Bundle Protocol Ecosystem
(Johannes Morgenroth, Sebastian Schildt, Lars Wolf; TU Braunschweig)


Place 3
CloudMAC - Using OpenFlow to Process 802.11 MAC Frames in the Cloud
(Peter Dely, Jonathan Vestin, Andreas Kassler; Karlstadt University)
Predictably Reliable Real-Time Transport
(Manuel Gorius, Thorsten Herfet; Saarland University)
Place 5
OC2E2AN: Optimized Control Center for Experience Enhancements in Access Networks
(David Hock, Florian Wamser, Michael Seufert, Rastin Pries, Phuoc Tran-Gia; University of Wuerzburg)